Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Other say that these are not the reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Language is the most important tool for communication, and any part of the world has its own specific language. So, some people believe that we do not need to learn a new foreign language just for traveling and working abroad. Others, however, believe that there are different reasons for learning a foreign language. In my opinion, the application of learning a new language does not limit to working or travelling, and it is an individual’s needs that clarify learning a new foreign language. On the one hand, people always prefer to learn new things based on their requirements and goals. Learning a new language is the basic requirement for communication, especially for travelling and working in a foreign country. In other words, people who travel abroad should know about the destination country’s language to meet their needs. For example, an Iranian who travels to Italy should speak Italian or at least English language to carry out her / his travel plans. Moreover, individuals who work in a foreign country should learn its language. As an example, a Japanese person who works in an American company in the USA cannot use his / her mother tongue in the workplace for doing her / his working tasks, such as participating in meetings, preparing reports, and communicating with her / his coworkers. However, learning a new tongue does not restrict to a specific time or place. With technological progress, including fast access to the internet, various data in diverse fields are accessible. In other words, people based on their careers can benefit from this information just by learning a related language. To exemplify it, Iranian doctors can get up-to-date information about medical science when they know the English language, or a Japanese professor can read the results of her / his French coworker’s research that was released in a weblog in the French language if he / she learn the French language. In conclusion, although learning a new language is essential for travelling and working abroad, there are other reasons that make people learn a foreign language. All in all, people decide to learn a new tongue for a particular goal based on their needs. This goal can be an oversea trip, working in a foreign country, and learning about different topics related to their professional activities.