A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Social prestige and wealth seem to be more important when judging a person than so-called obsolete ideals from the XIX century. I agree with this observation. From my understanding of this situation, not only does being rich equal being popular in nowadays culture, but we even tend to choose socially respected candidates to lead countries. The main reason, why social status and material possessions determine how we see a specific person, is the social behaviour inherited from TV shows. This is due to the fact that most people consume television without thought that it changes the way they think. Let me give an example: the TV show about Kardashians is one of the phenomena of show business. Nevertheless, the show which made the Kardashian sisters famous, wouldn‘t have happened at all, if not for the wealth possessed by the Kardashian family. As far as I am concerned, politics is becoming more and more of show business. Over and over again, we are able to see the overlap between those two disciplines. To clarify, I am not saying that so-called old-fashioned values are no longer ubiquitous in our political landscape. However, D. Trump became US president as a result of his popularity and wealth, S. Berlusconi was Italy‘s Prime Minister because of the same reasons. Examples like these are frequent all over the world, because social status and being rich make voters confident about the good qualities of the candidate, even though that might not be the case. I would like to conclude by saying that wealth and trust, popularity and honour, et cetera are not antonyms, they can fulfil each other, yet people tend to judge their new acquaintances on qualities that are visible more easily, such as material possessions and social status.