More and more people are travelling internationally for their holidays but it is expensive and bad for the environment. Do the advantages of international travel for the individual outweigh the disadvantages?

Annually, an Influx of travellers is spotted at airports, to spend their vacations abroad, without thinking about the toll that it is taking on the environment or their banks. This essay will argue that the disadvantages of international travel far outweigh the advantage it gives to a small flock of people. Firstly, by demonstrating the drastic toll a flight has on our planet and secondly, by how flying is only accessible to an elite club. On the contrary, its advantages are only limited to each individual's personal development. The disadvantages of air travel far overshadow its positives because of the enormous toll it takes on the climate. Each flight has an impact on the ozone layer. That should be of larger importance than the requirement to lay on a sunny beach and relax. This is illustrated by, figures released by Heathrow airport stating that there are 20 more flights taking off daily, today than there were 5 years ago. Increasing the carbon emissions of the airport per anum by 40%. Moreover, the increase in flights also comes hand in hand with an increase in flight prices. Making holidaying abroad a faraway dream for a majority of the population, which only an elite few, who are part of a mile-high club, are allowed to enter. In particular, this is seen in figures released by the aviation industry, where yearly ticket prices are 150% higher. However, on the other side, spending your summer abroad gives an individual time to relax and enjoy themselves. Is the pleasure of one person worth more than the planet? Recreational time being spent to de-stress surely is not on a higher podium than the carbon footprint a frequent flyer produces, which, for example in the US, typically equates to 16 tons for an average person. In conclusion, I believe the advantages of being an avid flyer are reserved for a single person and their well-being, which definitely do not outweigh the disadvantages that are paramount and affect the entirety of the world.