Today, advanced science and technology have made great changes to people’s life, but artists such as musicians, painters and writers are still highly valued. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

The industrial revolution enriches our material life substantially in the past 200 years, which bring huge changes to our life, particularly cellphones and computers. However, except for this material life, are there some things that are really different? I tend to think that it is arts as it can enable our life full of imagination and stimulate us to consider more. Firstly, arts, like drawings and songs, can promote our imagination of beauty. When I listened to the song ‘ California”, I would imagine what the real sights of this city are. Great valleys, skyscrapers or motels along the expresses. When I viewed the drawing named the sky from a mouth of the well, which depicted heaven from a circle crater perspective, all views of various sky, such as black clouds on a rainy day, red clouds on a later afternoon and a light blue sky in a sunny day, appeared on my mind. These contents cannot be brought by science and technology development. Moreover, arts, such as a book, can motivate our consideration. Last month, I read a book, Contagious written by Jonah Berger, explaining what made your products or ideas transmit quickly as a virus. An example of a mixer manufacturer caused my interest. It said that they made several videos about blenders almost everything, like golf balls and glass balls, to tell consumers the differences between their mixers and others. A series of videos gained millions of clicks and shares so their products had good sales. Therefore, I just pondered if this case can bring us inspiration for our own products. In conclusion, although we admit that there have been huge changes due to science and technology development, what arts can do is different from that. They can stimulate our imagination and pondering, which is crucial to our life.