You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The phenomenon of children using smartphones all day has been growing up. This case becomes common and I consider this a positive development. One reason is during the COVID-19 pandemic when lockdowns were implemented in many regions of the world. Therefore, students do not participate in outdoor activities and technology makes it easier for their activities such as playing games or studying. And they can save money on travel and online activities are always available. However, the benefits of technology make them get into the habit of using their phone every day. I consider this trend a negative for a number of reasons. The first reason for my belief is using the phone all day with regard to diseases such as being overweight. When using the phone full time, we focus on the phone because the games and work are on the phone. This makes them likely to go out to take part in the activity outdoors. Nutritionists of ABS University Vietnam did some research about the number of children overweight. As a result, 50% of children are overweight due to inactivity because of spending time on phones. Secondly, after a long time using the phone, the skills such as time-management, basic skill, and problem-solving may be limited. This creates disadvantages when in a real environment. For example, according to a recent survey conducted by the National University of Vietnam, 65% of children have difficulty in communicating with others. In conclusion, there are various negative consequences of using phones in children and appropriate steps need to be taken to tackle these problems by letting children participate in more outdoor activities.