In some countries, university students live away from home and in another city while studying. Do you think the disadvantages outweigh the advantages of living in another city?

Improvement in the living standard of humans has brought about more opportunities for higher education. In some nations, students attending university have to be far from home and live in other cities. From my perspective, the benefits of living away from home can outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, there are various demerits associated with this phenomenon. Firstly, living in other cities means students cannot have parental care and support. This can be a problem if pupils have illnesses without the help of their parents. Secondly, youngsters are likely to go astray while staying away from home. They tend to be attracted to leisure activities namely online games and hanging out with friends, thus leading to their bad performances at university. To explicate, these things may distract students from focusing on their study and worsens the efficiency of learning. However, staying away from family is beneficial for teenagers in numerous ways. Since youngsters have to fend for themselves while studying at university, they will develop precious personalities. For example, doing all sorts of things from washing clothes to cooking food on their own makes them more independent. Also, making efforts to complete housework and homework is a way to improve self-discipline. In addition, when students get an education distant from home, they stand a good chance to learn various essential life skills. They can form time management skills by balancing their time for study and chores, whereas decision-making skills can be developed by making their own decisions. In conclusion, although hostel life is harmful to individuals in some aspects, I believe there are more advantages than disadvantages. Students should be well aware of what task is the most important to them and set special goals to waste time on other unnecessary entertaining activities.