In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. what are advantages and disadvantages of giving children these message?

Children from some cultural backgrounds from early childhood tend to get messages about being able to achieve anything as soon as they make enough effort. Some argue that this strategy motivates youngsters, and as a result, they actually achieve more. Nevertheless, other disagree, stating that this message gives children false hope, and makes them stressed about not having done enough. One of the main advantages to say such phrases to young children is the motivation it gives. To clarify, youngsters tend to believe parents' words, therefore let us consider a youngster to whom his mother said an inspirational phrase about winning a prize in an art competition if he tries hard enough. Due to the fact that his mother made him believe in himself, this hypothetical offspring is not only more likely to participate in the competition than those who haven't got such a message, but to win as well. On the other hand, parents telling their offspring about achieving anything as long as they try hard enough can give them false hope. To give a clear example, let us consider that the same kid which participated in the competition hasn't won the prize, hence the false hope makes him grieve,unlike a minor who hadn't got such inspirational words at all. Subsequently, the hypothetical juvenile becomes stressed about whether he tries hard enough, and every unlucky situation makes him question it even more. I would like to conclude by saying that some believe that motivation in such phrases lets children achieve more. Notwithstanding, it is argued that was the goal not be achieved, the youngers' lives become stressful and full of doubt about themselves.