Task 2: Art classes should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that it should be compulsory for high school students to study art subjects. While I suppose that art may bring several benefits to students in high school, I disagree that all high school students have to join art classes. On the one hand, I agree that there are some advantages of learning art in high school. To begin with, art -related lessons may entertain students and help them relieve anxiety and stress after consecutive hours of learning. Therefore, they can protect pupils from mental illness. Besides, arts may allow students to enhance various soft skills, which are crucial for their future careers, especially if they work in art -related occupations such as creativity, problem-solving and critical thinking. On another hand, I disagree with the idea that art classes should be incorporated into high schools' curriculum; instead, I believe it should be an option for those who are interested in or pursuing a career path in art fields. Firstly, art subjects can place an extra burden on students ’ workload, when they have to prioritize subjects that are more crucial and related to their future jobs such as languages and natural science. Furthermore, it may be pricey for pupils when they have to pay an enormous amount of money to buy learning materials including paints and various types of pens, which not all students ’ families can afford. To summarize, I agree that art classes can benefit students, especially those who desire to become artists. However, I am of the opinion that high school students should not be obliged to attend these classes.