Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s modern world, books are definitely playing a pivotal role in youngsters’ development. Therefore, some go as far as to say children should spend time reading stories from books rather than watching TV or video games. From my perspective, I strongly concur with this school of thought due to some compelling reasons. First, reading a book is beneficial for children in shaping their brain and linguistic skills. Of course, watching TV gameshows or playing video games may provide a range of word expressions but books can offer a better amount of knowledge than those two activities. Obviously, because only spoken language with shortened sentence structures is used in TV programs and online entertainment, it is not as diverse as a written language. As for books, those reading tales or novels can be encouraged to understand the message delivered in the literary work, making them become more considerate people, which is clearly better than a small text instructing them what to do in gaming activities. In addition, reading books is a productive way to enrich children ’s imagination. This is because when they pause at any page of the book, they can immerse themselves with the story and the characters, so this is an effective way in boosting a child’s creativity. For example, when they are watching a specific program on TV, children can only respond and think of the events that are currently being aired so they won’t have the ability to imagine further circumstances. Similarly, not only does the low level of difficulty the game bring but also the fruit of experience can be a key factor in helping a child to win the game easily and that doesn’t need a child to anticipate the recent problem at all. In conclusion, I firmly believe that reading books is more useful for children than watching TV or playing video games since it can enhance a child’s curiosity and language skills successfully.