Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

There are varying opinions on what high school students should do once they graduate. While some believe that they should either work or travel before going to university, other people think otherwise. This essay discusses the benefits and pitfalls of either going to college directly or not. Students may need some life experience in order to appreciate it before they go to tertiary education. Since high school students have little to no knowledge about what they would like to do in life or what they want to study, this quickly becomes an issue once they start schooling. College students tend to either change courses simply because they realized that the course that they took was not the one that they liked or enjoyed. Spending time to think things through can greatly help the youth find their true calling, whether it is to spend more time studying or not. On the other hand, some students do not have the luxury of time. With some children wanting to graduate as soon as they can to be able to provide for their families; this is not a rare occurrence. Some students want to finish their studies as soon as they can to be able to become independent from their families. People have their own circumstances on why they choose to pursue their studies as fast as possible. In conclusion, some children may want to spend some time gathering their thoughts and make sure that they are making the right decision before going to a university, while other students want to finish as quickly as they can to help their family and gain independence.