Caring for children is probably the most important job in any society. Because of this, all mothers and fathers should be required to take a course that prepares them to be good parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Caring and educating children can be recognised as an indispensable part of parents ’ daily life and it has been exerting profound influence in any society. Some people believe that it is necessary for each parents to receive a course which will render them well-prepared to the coming parental life. This may be true in some cases, but I do not agree with the notion that all mothers and fathers should be required to take a parental course, since this requirement is impractical and unnecessary. In my opinion, taking parenthood preparation course is impractical in most scenarios for two main reasons. Firstly, it is not feasible to set course content since there is not a general principle that suit for all the children. In fact, a certain education approach which has a positive effect on some children may be counterproductive to other children. Due to the fact that different children would have different personalities and opinions, they are more likely to show significantly different reactions to the similar actions from parents, which make it impossible to figure out standard conduct for parental behaviour. In addition, a large proportion of parents find it hard to have enough time to take this course. A newborn child imposes a burden on family financial issues, including additional cost about milk powder, diapers and so on. This situation drives fathers and mothers to invest more time and effort in increasing income as well as taking good care of children; therefore, parents barely have time to take a parenthood preparation course. As well as being impractical, I would argue that taking parental training course is unnecessary. People can gain some effective education methods from their daily life, rather than a special training course. Fathers and mothers have been rearing their children without official guidance or formal help for thousands of years. For instance, parents can improve their caring and educating level by learning from their parents, their friends, their errors, the specific connection with children and so on. The age-old practice seems to confirm that people already have some useful ways to prepare them to be great parents. Comparing to taking a course, those ways may have better outcome. At the mean time, we cannot deny the fact that parenthood preparation training has its advantages, such as provide parents a place where they can share some caring experience. But in my opinion, this training should not be a requirement; instead, it should be an optional course for some parents who want to take it on their own accord. In conclusion, I hold the idea that we should not require all parents to take a training course for it is unwarranted.