Some people think that girls should take their husband's name after marriage while others feel that they should not follow this age old tradition. What is your opinion?

It had been a custom to carry the family name of the husband for women after marriage. While some people believe that this tradition has to be respected even in modern times, I argue that the family name has no significance in one’s life and changing names only creates hassle and loss of self-respect. To begin with, a woman has already been named after her parent’s family and her contributions and achievements in life so far are credited under the same till her marriage. In modern days, as women are getting married around the age of 30, which is nearly half of their average life expectancy, they could lose the credibility and popularity gained over the long period after converting their names. For example, Sania Mirza, who was a popular tennis sportswoman, did not change her name after marriage which otherwise could have led to recognition problems. Hence, the name change is not so beneficial for women with a lot of pride and achievements since their birth. The second significant problem with the modification of name is that it comes with the complexity of changing numerous existing documents. While the woman’s identification documents issued by the government of the originating country are all on the old name, they need to be reissued with the new name. For instance, in India, documents such as adhar card, passport, Permanent Account Number and driving licence are to be reauthorized with the new name and it takes away a lot of energy and time as the turnaround times are high. Thus, it makes a woman’s life easier to carry the same name post- marriage. In conclusion, the long-drawn tradition of carrying the husband’s name is not relevant in the new age generation as I strongly believe that it loses credibility achieved for all those years till the marriage and also creates hassles in converting the identification documents.