Some people think that professional athletes make good role models for young people, while others believe they don’t. Discuss both these points of views and give your own opinion

Athletes are essential representatives and embassadors of conduct for young people. However, some people tend to believe that this is incorrect as they do not impact individuals’ lives. As far as I am concerned, although some people not believe in it, sports have a remarkable influence in the life of the younger generation. This essay will debate both viewpoints. First of all, the notion that many players use ililcit drugs, as well as, some use performance-enhancing drugs to compete favourably in events. This has driven many youths into drug reliance. For example, Diego Maradona is a well-known soccer player who were greatly admired for her talent in the field and brought popularity to Argentina. However, behind the scenes, he became a drug addict and he was model to other minors. Therefore, this culture of role-models has brought devastating consequences On the other hand, the athletes who have a purpose in life, follow their dreams and are committed can become an advocate of commitment, resilience and power. Sport can change lives not only in muscular and physical development, but also in mental behaviour and styles. According to a research undertaken after the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, the University of São Paulo found out that 43,000 people started a sport in extra-curricular class in Brasil. This leads to people engaging with better quality of life. Thus, sportspeople can become positive ambassadors of positive attitudes. In conclusion, despite the fact of some people do not believe of the power of athletes being a role model to juveniles, it is unconceivable to realise that sports can make a positive impact in people ’s life. Some detrimental examples of sportspeople should not outstanding the positive role-models.