Behaviour and lifestyles vary from country to country. Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Do you agree or disagree?

Variations in behaviour and lifestyle differentiate one country from another. Due to this very reason tourism has increased over the past decades. Some people opine that tourists should behave accordingly to the customs as well as traditions of the host country. I, too, agree with the belief. This essay intends to discuss my views in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, there are many points in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that behaving as per the local traditions reduces the chances of misunderstanding and embarrassment. For instance, asking about pay is considered rude in the UK but is quite common in India. So, if an Indian knows about this beforehand, he can be saved from being embarrassed. Therefore, it is important to behave as per the local tradition. Probing ahead, the main motive for people to travel is to widen their horizons. By familiarising himself with the customs of the country one is travelling to, he will be able to gain much knowledge about the nation. For example, travelling to a culture-rich country like Japan will make the person more knowledgeable about the behaviours of the citizens and thus spread the information to one's near and dear and also helping the locals to know the country better through the person. In conclusion, there is a popular idiom which goes as In Rome do what the Romans do. So, following the touring country's traditions will help a person in many ways from being saved from embarrassment to gaining wider knowledge about an exotic country