It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn about the culture, since one can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many hold the view that reading, browsing websites online, and watching movies can give people complete cultural knowledge instead of experiencing and learning on-site. This essay discusses both sides of this argument and why I somewhat agree that travelling plays a significant role in studying the culture of a certain area. To begin with, exploring the community involves interacting with the locals, from whom one can get information straightforward, including the language, literature, tradition and history. In addition, the geographic characteristics, such as the weather and landscapes, are part of the source of the culture, and only can be absorbed after the learner physically steps on the soil. Moreover, the knowledge can be updated in real-time if one touches the paintings on the wall or live in the villages to discover the mysteries there, since the information written on the book pages may be outdated. On the other hand, reading a book or doing research on the Internet assists the reader or researcher in getting the results rapidly. Also, it can save the money spent on transport in order to get to a distant destination, saving time spontaneously. Furthermore, the mediums of knowledge including books, videos and networks are like time machines, in which there are numerous writers giving their views, equipping the viewers with cultures no matter in which space or time. In conclusion, I am more inclined to agree that learning in the local community can help the scholar to experience the cultural environment more vividly, although reading books, watching films and documentaries, and doing virtual research are efficient methods to gain cultural information.