More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The number of communities who are severely obese is growing. To solve this matter, there are those who argue that raising the cost of fattening meal. However, the way I see it, solely increasing the cost of the said foods does not necessarily solve this situation. On one hand, increasing the price of the fattening meal might reduce public consumption. Knowing that they need to reach deeper into their pocket only to afford some unhealthy snack, it will probably cause them to take a step back before purchasing them. For instance, to end this unhealthy trend, the government can raise the price of the menus at burger restaurants, which are the immediate source of junk meals. This way, consumers will think twice before ordering their food and thus, may result in a decrease in the public's unhealthy eating. On the other hand, simply raising the cost of unhealthy foods will not completely put an end to this matter. There are still many people who can easily afford even the expensive menus in a fast food restaurant joint. As an illustration, the government may be able to raise the bill, but society who are financially able can purchase those foodstuffs anytime they please. Therefore, the problem of obesity cannot be tackled with only this solution. Furthermore, fattening food addicts will always try to obtain the menus they desire. This means that the bill will not affect them as well. These sorts of family will find ways to keep their cravings satiated. For instance, these junkies might not mind doing overtime work in order to keep buying those meals regardless of the long-term impacts on their bodies. Although this is saddening, such a situation is far from being impossible, especially in fast-paced countries where fast foods or any other unhealthy snack are widely consumed. In conclusion, the increase in fatty foods fees will not guarantee the end to the problem of obesity. This is due to the community who are capable of affording the foods are not small in number. Lastly, those who are already addicted to these kinds of foodstuff will simply find a way to fulfil their desire.