Many people believe that education standards have declined in recent times. Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it.

Some people argue that students are not receiving an education as good as that in the past. In my view, there are several reasons behind this phenomenon, and some measures can be taken to tackle it. Two main factors are to blame for the declining level of education. Firstly, modern parents tend to be too lenient and permissive. Hence, children become accustomed to getting whatever they want, and as a result, they may be unwilling to be regulated by teachers and follow instructions. This would be detrimental to the development of students ' self-discipline and academic performance. Furthermore, modern education systems may suffer from the commercialization of education. These days, societies place too much emphasis on grades, resulting in fast growth in the so-called exam-oriented education, which usually comes with rote memorizations and linear thinking. In this way, students are merely taught to be paper question solvers, while their creativity and individuality are repressed. Although a serious issue as it is, we can take steps to mitigate this undesired trend. Changes must start with parents, who need to be persuaded that it is of vital importance to set some firm rules for children. When children misbehave or break some rules, parents should make reasonable punishments to demonstrate that actions have consequences. Even more importantly, all aspects of societies may need to recognize the significance of fostering students ' personalities and encouraging them to find their own talents and to get rid of the illusion that grade is everything. Accordingly, schools and teachers ought to enhance their students ' lateral thinking and help them obtain some skills such as critical thinking and real-world problem-solving. In these ways, hopefully, this condition can be improved. In conclusion, some aspects may underly the declining standards of teaching, while means can be taken to mitigate this issue.