Today’s society is based on laws and rules. It can’t function well if individuals are free to do whatever they want. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, it is widely believed that the community cannot function well without laws and rules. As far as I am concerned, I agree with this statement to a small extent as sustainable development may be impeded if no enough freedom is being provided to individuals. To begin with, restricting citizens’ behaviours may improve the economy. Since setting laws and rules may raise the cost of committing crimes, the crime rate can be reduced hopefully owing to the deterrent effect. For example, potential offenders may give up their intention to steal if the cost of stealing is overweight the benefits. Therefore, laws may be beneficial for maintaining the social order since the secured environment may attract several investments which help boost the local economy. On the other hand, citizens may lose their abilities to innovate once they are not free to do certain things they want. As some people may be afraid of punishment, they may prefer obeying rules instead of sharing their inspiring thoughts. For instance, children who use their own methods instead of solutions from textbooks to solve certain questions may be punished. Therefore, sustainable development may not be ensured in the long run if citizens are not encouraged to try different methods and improve their creativity. In conclusion, although laws and rules can help enhance the social order and introduce investment, it is undeniable that development relies on innovation and creativity. As a result, society can maintain its function even though it gives a certain freedom to the individuals since it may help promote sustainable development.