Young people committing crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that adults and young people should be treated equally in the eyes of law. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the statement and young people should give a second chance to learn and grow in their lives from the past mistakes. Firstly, those people who are in favour of punishing the young people in the same way as adults will engenders a deterring effect. The main reason for punishment is not limited to that crime but also a lesson for others as well not to repeat similar mistakes. As, today’s young generation is well versed with the laws and educate them in schools regarding the penalties, punishment imposed in case of committing any crime. For instance, social media also play a major role in spread awareness and consequences among young generation through introduction of digital helpline portals, Me too movement and defamation on social media. In fact, crime rate of young people has been reduced significantly as compared to the past trends. Thus, crime rate will increase if lack of awareness, and knowledge about the misdeeds witnesses among individuals. Secondly, punishment for the wrong should not be the only factor but self-realisation, guilt, and chance of being a better human being and example for others should be kept in mind while declaring the verdict. However, leniency should be shown towards pupil basis age. To illustrate, Proper facilities should be given such as education, teaching of skills with respect to the area of interest to re-start their lives post imprisonment. Thus, authorities should be more considerate towards immature individuals and chances should be given to learn from their offence and re-shape the live once again. To conclude, authorities should provide ease towards people basis age and penalizing should not be the only goal perhaps set up an example for others not to replicate the tort and another chance for improvement should be provided.