Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some people that companies should increase the cost of products with high levels of sugar to mitigate associated health issues. I completely disagree with this proposal since it is impossible to make every sugary product more expensive and crimes could be encouraged. To commence with, it should be remembered that sugar exists in almost all kinds of food and drink, even in natural ones like fruits and nuts. If this suggestion is accepted and food providers increase the prices of their products, every single product may have to have its cost rise, as they contain either natural or artificial sweeteners. This may not bring about the desired effect as people might consider the rise in the cost of sweet products as financially related and not for bettering their health. Hence, they might continue to consume the insidious sweet products as they usually do. For instance, if there is a sudden rise in the cost of food and beverages which is rich in sugar, people will likely think the cost of raw sugar has surged and will keep purchasing the food or drink. Another reason for not making sugary products more expensive is that it encourages crimes such as robberies and shoplifting. This is primarily because even though being detrimental to people ’s health, sugar still plays a vital role in ensuring the human body functions properly and preventing us from certain ailments. In other words, human needs it to survive and live healthily. Food and drink with higher costs may not be affordable for those with low income and they may end up robbing it to maintain their health. For example, when fruits were made pricier in Vietnam, many poor people robbed them from the local market since they could not afford them. In conclusion, making sugary food and drink costs more may not lead to the wanted result since people might keep buying the products and there may be a rise in the crime rate.