Some people are of the opinion that children should be rewarded for good behaviour. Others think they should be punished for bad behavior. Discuss both views and give your personal opinion and reasons.

Parents stand on two sides in the nurturing of children. Some believe adults should reward good actions of a child, while others think it is imperative to discipline untoward behaviour. This essay agrees that it is important to have a more positive outlook on parenting. Seldom do children only learn attributes via punishment. Firstly, it is argued that gentler parents, that reward more than punish, have stronger relationships with their children. Youngsters can turn toward their parents without the fear of any ramifications. if you can't turn to your parents in a time of need, then who will you turn to? Therefore, I agree that a more rewards-based approach is the better approach as it produces more stable adults. It is the more harmonious path. For instance, this is evident in a survey by Kings College in which adults who had parents who rewarded good behaviour had decreased risk of anxiety and depression. However, many disagree with this approach and believe that punishment is necessary to discipline kids. Particularly, so that they do not become nuisances to society; the constant enabling of a child produces detrimental attributes. Although, having a favourable approach does not mean there is a lack of control and regulation. For example, my niece is taught right from wrong by being gently coached through the experience, instead of a merciless reaction. In conclusion, while an understanding approach to raising a youngster produces more untroubled adults, some still believe it does not enforce enough boundaries and requires severe consequences. However, as long as kind guidance is given at errors, rewarding positive behaviour is acceptable.