Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

In recent years, it is increasingly common for recidivism after being released from prison. This essay will explore the reasons why this is the case, and also suggest some ways to resolve the problem. There are some reasons why the rate of becoming a convict again after rehabilitation increases. Firstly, during the time in prison, prisoners may lose their chance to gain work experiences or up-to-date knowledge. Therefore, they will have difficulty in finding a job in today’s competitive labor market. As the result, they have to turn to crime for making living, which leads to an increase in the number of recidivists. Another reason for this issue can be social prejudice. Many people still have a prejudice against former prisoners and ignore them even after they have been reformed. For this reason, it could be difficult for former criminals to reintegrate into society, which can help them make new friends or distance themselves from bad influences. As a consequence, they will be more likely to return to their old friends who were involved in criminal activities and continue to back to criminal behaviors. A solution for reducing the recurrence of criminal activities can be to provide vocational classes or training courses which can give prisoners a chance of rehabilitation and to find work. In some universities in the US, for instance, offer degree programs to enable offenders to gain qualifications. Another solution is that society should also reduce the stigma associated with prisoners and provide them with emotional backing needed to become productive members of society. In conclusion, although there are quite a number of factors which incite criminals to commit crimes after having been released, I do believe that the government and society should take the responsibility to rehabilitate ex-offenders to prevent them from recidivism.