The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advance in technology.To what extent do you agree or disagree

Technological advancement is changing the narratives in all spheres of life and the field of criminology is not left out. Nowadays, due to advancing technologies in the areas of crime prevention and solving, the crime rate is fast decreasing when compared to times when these technologies were not available. The preceding paragraphs will explain how advancements in surveillance devices and security alarm systems have resulted in crime prevention, as well as how advances in forensic criminological techniques have contributed to crime reduction. To begin, the deployment of 24/7 surveillance cameras and alarm systems in offices, banks, businesses, hotels, and even homes and public places has severed as deterrents to criminals, especially burglars and robbers. In some climes, government and insurance policies mandate the installation of these cameras and alarm systems in public and business places. The footage from these cameras, as well as their presence, has assisted crime solving and prevention respectively. Security alarm systems alert the law enforcement agencies and the immediate vicinity of possible breaking and entering, in the building in which it is installed, for swift mobilisation of agents to the scene. Camera footage and being caught in the act as a result of alarms have eliminated the criminal's use of an alibi that they were somewhere else at the time the crime was committed. Secondly, the widespread application of DNA and fingerprint matching techniques have greatly revolutionalised crime solving. A person's fingerprints and DNA configurations are their permanent identification throughout life. Now, DNA and fingerprints taken from crime sites could be matched with all suspects to pinpoint the perpetrator. With the advent of these techniques, for instance, even some decades-old cold cases have been solved and wrongful convictions have been discovered and reversed. The magic is done by simply matching the DNA and fingerprints left behind at the crime scene with all suspects in a case and also running it through a government-held database of previously arrested criminals for crimes related to that being investigated. To conclude, the advent of both these technologies has advanced by lightyears the fields of crime prevention and solving. Also, they have resulted in many arrests of criminals that will have gone scot-free. Hence the reason I agree that crime rate reduction is attributable to technological advancements.