The use of social media is replacing face to face interaction among many people in the society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is important to consider how much time we spent each day on various social media platforms. Although some people believe that these applications have made communicating easier with individuals, others argue that they hider trust and cooperation. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of social media platforms. On the first hand, advocates of social media would suggest that it has enabled a plethora of people to connect with folks across the globe without having to travel. To illustrate this point, a person operating in The USA can be contacted by a person in India via email, saving both money and time for organisations. In addition to that, an organisation can reach out to a zillion of people to create awareness of forthcoming products via advertisements. For example, A shoe-making organisation can run back-to-back advertisements, let us say, on Facebook to promote their upcoming offers and schemes, warranting potential buyers to learn about these lucrative deals. On the other hand, there are many disadvantages to social media platforms besides advantages. Firstly, crucial decisions cannot be undertaken unless both parties meet personally. For instance, world leaders meet in person each and every time to resolve complex problems associated with world hunger, inflation, and poverty to name a few. Furthermore, trust and cooperation cannot be built amongst folks over, let us say, email or video conference, until and unless all the parties to contract interact and meet personally, reaching an agreement. For example, a lot of buyers still buy goods offline to this day despite lucrative offers on websites because they have developed great relationships with dealers and distributors. In conclusion, while social media platforms can enable individuals to connect with people living in distant cities and abroad, trust and cooperation can be achieved via face-to-face interaction. I think the disadvantages of these platforms outweigh their advantages.