Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Environmental pollution is a significant concern prevailing these days. Using plastic in any form in daily life is terrible for our surroundings. It damages the environment by causing land, air, and water pollution. The government and a person should take many steps to protect the environment from getting depleted. Plastic is a big cause of environmental pollution. It is a non-biodegradable material, so we cannot decompose it naturally. Either we have to burn it or dig into the abandoned land, which results in air and land pollution. On top of this, if it goes to water bodies, then it causes further damage to marine life. The aquatic animals get choked by the plastic bags. Moreover, it starts releasing toxic chemicals after some time and which can cause a life threat to marine life. For example, it is reported that many aquatic animals are about to go extinct. Every day, people find their dead bodies on the seashore; plastic is the only reason behind it. Now is the time that we all should take some strict actions to preserve our earth. Being an individual, we should understand our duties toward our surroundings. We should abandon the use of plastic in our daily life. Plastic bags should be replaced with jute bags to carry things. Moreover, people should discourage items packed with a lot of plastic material. Companies do this packaging only to attract customers, and we should avoid this. For instance, People can use handmade bags from cloth while going to market. And on the part of the government, they should make laws like Banning plastic, and they should impose them strictly by giving some punishments for not following them. The license of shops should be cancelled if anyone finds guilty. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that we should take strong actions to protect our environment and aquatic animals for our present and future generations. For, this we should co-operate with the government in following the laws.