Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

There can be little doubt that several animal species are in danger of being extinct. The root causes for this are poaching and deforestation, yet it can be tackled by the government strengthening the laws. The underlying root of animal extinction is illegal overhunting and poaching. It must be recognized that numerous cultures still hold the belief that animal parts possess medicinal properties. As a result, the misunderstood of the medicinal purposes of some parts of animals leads to extensive poaching and illegal trade, severely impacting the populations of a variety of species. Furthermore, poaching not only makes various animals extinct but also destroys the whole ecosystem of the other species -environment. For instance, according to the research that took place in South Africa, where the local inhabitants hunt rhinos in order to get their horns, the population of rhinos decreased by 67% just in the period of 5 years from 2011 to 2016. Additionally, there is a correlation between the population of rhinos and their predators. The researchers have shown that the number of predators of rhinos also fell by almost 10 species per week during the time the research was conducted. Cutting down trees is another point that is worth consideration. This is because most of the wildlife inhabits the forest. Moreover, some plants inside the forest not only provide shelter for various species but also provide food for them. Take China as a prime example here, the number of pandas declined from 10 thousand to almost 1 hundred due to the destruction of bamboo forests. However, a solution can be found in reinforcing the regulations. The most effective approach is government should strengthen anti-poaching laws and jungle protection laws as well as increase the penalties for violators. As a consequence, the wildlife will be safe due to the strict laws. For example, in Vietnam, after the authority increased the penalties for people who break the laws, consequently the percentage of wildlife deaths was reduced to merely 5%. Taking all points into account, it has been demonstrated that illegal hunting of animals and forest destruction contributes to the extinction of many animals. Thus, if the laws are not strict, the government will fail to preserve the numerous species of animals