Today, in spite of the scientifically proven necessity of life-long learning, the idea that innate intelligence (thinking skills) is enough to have a successful life is dominating the minds of people.   Why is this the case?  What can be done about this problem?

Natural intelligence has always been an incredibly sought-after trait, but is it enough to guarantee lifelong success? Although science has proven otherwise, many still insist it does. This essay will establish how societal stereotypes are the cause of this, and the role teachers play in rectifying this obsolete way of thinking. Firstly, cultural and educational norms teach us that individuals gifted with intelligence will naturally excel in life. This is particularly apparent within the education system. Where children who seemingly succeed with ease based on their intelligence alone, are praised relentlessly. In comparison, students who expel huge efforts and time to achieve similar results, are disregarded. For example, in my school children in the top sets were viewed with higher regard compared to the bottom set of children, irrespective of their success at school. Seldom, did teachers treat them with the respect they deserved. Moreover, the most paramount task in unravelling ancient ideals is to teach students from a young age what qualities are truly beneficial. That is to say, refraining from overly praising success is achieved only through intelligence in exchange for applauding the dedication and exemplary work ethic. If greatness is what you seek, it will only be achieved through purposeful commitment. Apprenticeships, for instance, prove this fact in that teenagers, with less than ideal intelligence, are still able to heed great success. In conclusion, although for years, the opinion of society has been that intelligence alone can afford you huge success, work must be done in our education system to rectify this ideal, instilling more useful attributes like work ethic..