In many countries, there is a shortage of housing due to growing population. Some people argue that new towns should be built in the countryside, others argue for the regeneration of cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of building new towns in the country side?

In some nations,there is a lack of accommodations as a result of an increase in the number of inhabitants.A section of society opines with the construction of new houses in the village whereas others oppose. This essay will explain in detail the merits and demerits of constructing a new building on the outskirt in the subsequent paragraphs with examples. To begin with,there are several benefits of constructing houses in the village. Firstly,it helps create jobs.As more people move to the rural areas,the government will build schools and hospitals.These amenities will need teachers and nurses to work there.Those in the countryside will be offered the opportunity if they have the qualification. Moreover,it is cost-effective.The land there is affordable so it will take a small amount of money to build. For example,a plot of land in the village of Adiembra is 500 dollars in Ghana whilst the same land costs 9000 dollars in the city. Hence,the individual will save a lot of money compared to purchasing it in the city. Secondly,there are two demerits of building in the countryside.there will be pressure on the land because the majority of people will move there to build which will be left with few. Furthermore,there will be a scarcity of food because most of the land that will be used for farming will be occupied by houses.For,example a recent study states that the percentage of production declined when people moved there. Therefore,it will result in a high price of goods. In conclusion, the creation of occupations and affordability of land are the benefit of building in the countryside.Meanwhile,lack of food and pressure on natural resources are the two cons of building in the rural areas