Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, most of the children spend their time on their phones. This essay will discuss the reasons for this tendency and whether it is positive or negative To begin with, there are a number of reasons why children prefer spending their time on smartphones. Usually, parents who are busy at work cannot control their offspring which means they can do whatever they want and the smartphone becomes the best mate. Another crucial reason might be related to a lack of outdoor activity. For instance, if a child does not do any sports, they are likely to waste their time playing games on a phone. As a result, they will be obsessed with using devices for entertaining purposes. In addition, they might have online friends, but the amount of real friends might be small which may lead to not being able to communicate. By contrast, I firmly believe that this is not a positive development. From my viewpoint, it is better for youngsters to have a childhood. Once they grow up their memories will be associated with electronic devices which is not great. Obviously, every parent should comprehend that those gadgets may only take energy from their offspring. In addition, the health issues also have to be mentioned. When a child uses a phone for hours it will harm their eyes. If it happens at a young age, vision troubles will not be easily solved in the future. To conclude, there are a large quantity of causes of such tendency which are a disability of controlling a child’s spare time and no outside activity. I consider that allowing children to use smartphones too much may contribute to a poor childhood as well as health problems.