In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is anticipated that online reading will soon supplant the traditional way of reading because all news and books will be found on the Internet and readers are not charged any fees at all. I completely oppose this view for the following reasons. Firstly, I am not persuaded by the idea that all printed books and newspapers will be converted into online versions which are provided to readers free of charge. This seems to be infeasible because if they are free, there will be no funding to pay for reporters who are in charge of seeking valuable news and report it vividly in words and images, and writers who nurture our mental life and enrich our knowledge. Furthermore, providing online news and books is free, it is not a fair treatment with authors or journalists because a common belief is being complimentary means being not valuable. Even if this assumption turns into reality, there still exist people who want to read paper versions. The reading experience is the main explanation for the survival of paper books and newspapers even when the world is digitalized. In fact, many bookworms are addicted to the smell of wood papers and achieve a sense of fulfillment when displaying their books on a bookshelf neatly. Also, the online world is relatively chaotic with uncensored information and other temptations, so parents are likely to deter their children from excessive exposure to the internet, and online reading is therefore discouraged. It is not to mention that many elderly people are computer-illiterate and struggle to approach online news. In conclusion, I reaffirm that the availability of all news and books online is impractical and unfair. Provided that this trend happens, I also opine that many people will still retain the habit of reading books and news in the conventional way.