In many countries, paying for things using mobile app is becoming increasingly common. Does this development are having more advantages or disadvantages?

As technology progresses, it has been increasingly more common to purchase items through mobile apps as opposed to using physical money in some nations. From my perspective, although there are certain issues regarding this innovation, the merits rather outweigh the demerits. On the one hand, being approved as the orthodox measurement of exchanging values, physical money has been used for hundreds of years with utter trust from payers. It is, therefore, arduous for digital companies to persuade individuals to switch to virtual payments. Not only will this manipulate the already stable economy, but it will also devalue money as there are too many currencies. A shred of evidence comes from several poor countries in Africa that had been exposed to digital money not long ago. They eventually witnessed economic corruption as the result of the asymmetry between digital money and physical ones. On the other hand, while physical money can become a target for thieves, with the superior security that mobile apps offer, bank accounts are impenetrable for those who do not have access to the passwords. Consequently, this way of exchanging values guarantees safety for users. Furthermore, in comparison with physical money, one only has to carry a smartphone in order to conduct a payment, not to mention the simplicity of maneuverability when it comes to buying items. In Vietnam, for example, many people, who have installed an online paying app, said that they have seen better reliability and that it has saved them time. In conclusion, digital money as a surrogate for physical ones has the probability of disrupting the economy. However, given that positive ramifications take precedence over deleterious implications, I strongly believe that paying for items using mobile apps carries more advantages than disadvantages.