There are many people who go to live in different countries. To what extent should people be allowed to move freely between countries and live where they choose? What are the benefits and drawbacks of this?

It is argued that individuals should possess the freedom to migrate from one part of the world to the other. Personally, I largely agree that people should have the right to reside in areas of their choice. In this essay, I will give some reasons and explore the merits and demerits of doing this. Critics of this idea contend that without any policy to restrict the number of residents, metropolis may be under too much burden, allowing too many immigrants to live there. That means there would be no adequate resources for education, medicine and accommodation in megacities if people were allowed to rush into these areas. Cities like Beijing and New York seem to experience this trend currently, with concrete jungles built to keep up with the increasing population surging into cities. However, the house market and the cost of living in large cities can help to mitigate such stress, making people less capable leaving the area. Therefore, no policy is needed to restrict people's movement while the market will regulate the trend in a more subtle way. Without certain limits on migration, people can enjoy great benefits brought about by free movement. The key one is that the experience of living in distinct countries for several years definitely enrich people's life, as they encounter more culture and customs. For instance, living near the North Pole allows people to be acquaintant with various way to express snow and how to use sledge to hunt. However, it is not without drawbacks. The major one is that it might trigger more people to move and live in large cities, so that the extremely high population intensity might cause discomfort living in those areas. In conclusion, there should not be any policies banning people from moving to other countries. This might bring both advantages and disadvantages to the population.