Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It may be thought that imposing restrictions, or extra charges on certain dietary products, may slow down the rate of their consumption. However, I totally disagree with these implications for several reasons, as will be illustrated in the following paragraphs. Firstly, if it is the responsibility of higher authorities to price the high sugar content food, this will open the door to a whole range of other products that should be treated similarly. For example, cigarettes have harmful side effects, likewise, liquors have a devastating impact on the liver when addicted. Interfering with such broad-scale industries, in my opinion, is impossible in our modern world with liberal economic systems in almost all countries. Moreover, it would be a setback in regards to the freedom of the market and liberty. Secondly, this in turn raises a philosophic question. Should people be directed according to special entities that can think and determine for them what is right and what is wrong? Undoubtedly, people’s ability to practice the free will, will be affected by such decisions, especially youngsters, when money is the only barrier. Instead, in my view, awareness should be raised more through the healthcare services, and school curriculums in order to make people able to judge and choose. Consequently, consumers’ desire to obtain expensive food will be driven by the value of food. In conclusion, hindering the trade competition and the way several manufacturers function, may not be the smart decision nowadays. Alternatively, shaping the public’s concepts about our challenges for time being, is extremely crucial.