The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. Schools should cut art and music out of the curriculum so that children can focus on useful subjects such as information technology. To what extent do you agree or disagrees with this statement?

Many people think schools may face a dilemma of whether they should replace art and music with information technology so as to equip students with the ability to face the challenges in this modern world. While information technology is of paramount importance for students, I believe subjects like art and music are also indispensable. Admittedly, it students choose information technology (IT) courses, they can obtain hands-on experience and earn good money. From the perspective of practical experience, IT students are given practical studies rather than theoretical ones. That is, scholars are not confined to books or textbooks because most universities allocate large budget to add new information on computing and update their savvy continuously. Moreover, undoubtedly, a pursuit of IT courses can result in high earning potential because IT courses are highly prized in modern businesses. Therefore, graduates can get a leg up on others in the competition with these handy, professional skills. Despite these arguments, I believe that art is an essential subject because students should learn to promote their creativity and express their emotions and feelings. First, without the training of imaginative and creative thinking, students will struggle to grow into dynamic, critical individuals when they become adults. On the contrary, if they particularly gifted in their creative abilities, studying arts can help them further nurture their talents and sharpen the cognitive skills. For instance, a study suggests that students who opt for art and musical subjects will feel more independent, boost their confidence and become bold in decision making when they join the workforce in the future. Second, if some young children do not have the linguistic capabilities to clearly express themselves and communicate successfully with others, by studying art and music, they are able to convey meanings through pictures, symbols, and rhythm. Owing to this reason, many teachers can utilize children's artworks to gain an insight into what they think and feel. In conclusion, students should strike a balance between all subjects in an attempt to attain a healthy development both mentally and physically. Thus, it is necessary to ensure that there is an optimum balance of art, music, and information technology it school curricula.