Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

Most of the tourist places have many museums as well as sites of historical relevance. However, such places are majorly visited by foreign visitors rather than the localites locality. This essay intends to discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon, and suggest some ways to ameliorate this problem before drawing a reasonable conclusion. To commence with, there are myriad of reasons why majority of visitors prefer to go to historical sites. The first and foremost is that they are fascinated by these new places and in order to explore and learn more about the culture of the host country they pay a visit to these places. Local individuals, on the other hand, do not have anything extraordinary to view at such sites and museums as they do not undergo regular upgradation. As a result, they find it sheer wastage of their money. Moving further, several steps can be taken to influence local people to go to sites with historical relevance. The first step could be providing free-of-cost entry to individuals belonging to nearby areas. For instance, the Art museum in sector 10 Chandigarh, invites students from local schools to visit it without charging any money. This attracts children's parents as well. Moreover, historical sites should be maintained and renovated from time to time so that residents of local areas visit them more often. In conclusion, I reiterate that although historical monuments and museums attract more visitors because they do not undergo regular changes, still authorities can attract local people also by improving these places and providing free entry on specific days.