Traffic congestion in major cities is an increasing problem, yet there is an environmental impact to be considered when building new roads. What can be done about this problem?

Nowadays, It is often argued that traffic issue, especially in metropolitan city areas increasing day by day and for that reason, the Government need to build new roads, and as a result, it affects negatively our environment. In my opinion, the usage of more public vehicles and building factories in village areas helps to eliminate this problem very efficiently. To begin with, people should use more public vehicles for their office and other work purposes, which will help to decline traffic issue in cities, this is because using less number of vehicles means less traffic, and as a result, government do not need to build new roads in the metropolis. Also, if authorities will develop new highways in need then they should construct pathways at night. For example, in Japan roads are constructed at night with less harmful materials, thus, it will help to decline air and other pollution very efficiently. On the other hand, the government should be built industries in village areas, as a result, people will not migrate from regional areas to cities for employment, so metropolis will stay less populated, hence, there will be less usage of vehicles means it will eventually decline traffic congestion problem and then we do not need to construct new highways. In conclusion, due to usage of more and more private and public transport traffic congestion problem arise in cities area and for that reason, we need to construct new highways. However, building industries in regional areas and also usage of more public transport instead of private help to decrease this problem rapidly.