Universities should allocate the same amount of money to students’ sports activities as they allocate to their libraries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Should universities siphon off equal funds to dedicate to both sports and libraries? This essay will delve into the reasons why I disagree with this statement. Seldom has a student achieved greatness without the aid of books. Firstly, libraries house books, which are the cornerstone of the majority of university degrees. Therefore, it is essential to prioritise equipping these areas of campus with everything that is needed to foster a positive learning environment for students. Moreover, hindering the academic development of students by allocating precious funds to sporting activities would be detrimental to the success of countless pupils. For example, a study undertaken at Washington University illustrated that Universities with underdeveloped Library facilities, overall, had a 20% reduction in students graduating with first -class honours in comparison to those with adequate library blocks. In addition, another point of contention when discussing the delegation of funds is that libraries serve more than simply a place to store books. If educational establishments don't include libraries, individuals would have fewer places to study. Although sports tournaments offer an outlet for those in need of stress relief and enjoyment, they are simply not essential. Libraries, on the other hand, are crucial for the vast majority of students. Therefore should be placed in higher regard. For instance, 94% of students, who part-took in a survey by The Times news, stated that the library was one of the main areas on school grounds, they used to revise. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that there should be equality in the allocation of money to both sports games and libraries. Not only do they provide a safe space for students to revise and socialise, but without them, success rates at universities would plummet.