Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that they should be recruited to serve their home countries where they have taken their training, whilst others think that they have the right to work wherever they like. I believe that although physicians and engineers cost quite much money to become well trained, they have the right to immigrate to another country after working for a certain period in their countries. Some people think that states should keep their skilled workers in their countries and prevent them from traveling because they trained them for free. This means that they have to spend their whole life working in their countries and never give permission to work outside their countries. For example, China prevents its skilled workers from leaving their countries. However, I believe it is unhuman to keep citizens in their countries against their will. Instead, it is better to permit them after serving their countries for a certain number of years after their graduation. Others argue that governments should allow their physicians and engineers to choose to work inside or outside their home country as it is their right to decide. This means that although the governments spend taxpayers’ resources to train these types of careers, these graduates should not be prevented from working in another country. For instance, the Egyptian government gives them the freedom to work in another country after spending an obligatory period working in underserved areas. Therefore, I believe that doctors and engineers should pay back this money by working for a certain time in their countries before leaving. In conclusion, based on the mentioned points above, I believe that the best solution to be fair is that governments should permit their skilled workers to work abroad after working for their countries for a certain number of years as a kind of return of service.