One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that a lot of constructions, such as buildings and offices are now built with an open-space design. While it can be argued that having constructions built with an open-space design is beneficial, I still believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, and this is a negative development. There are two main reasons why people might believe that this is a positive development. Firstly, the relationships between employees might be better. This is because working in an open-space area brings employees closer together physically, breaking down the invisible wall between people. As a result, employees can interact with their colleagues more easily, making it more approachable. Lastly, it might have positive effects on the collaboration between colleagues. As employees are bring closer together, they have better communication and interaction with each other. This benefits employees with a better flow of information, resulting in better management for managers. Despite the above arguments, I still believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Firstly, working together in an open-space area might lead to the lack of privacy. Since workers sit closely to each other, every of their actions might be observed by their colleagues. Sometimes, work is sensitive, and being able to see everyone’s screen might be disruptive. Secondly, working in an open- plan area might lead to greater distractions. Working close to each other without walls to separate people can be noisy and chaotic, especially in call centers. This results in the fact that employees can’t focus on their work, decreasing their efficiency. Lastly, it might end up in a higher risk of diseases spreading. This is because employees work fairly close to each other, so the chance of an infectious disease spreading might be very high. In conclusion, while there are benefits of open-plan design, I still believe that this is a negative development, and the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.