Nowadays, shops have extended opening hours almost every day of the week in many countries. Is it a positive development or negative development for shoppers and local communities?

Nowadays, a lot of news shops are mushrooming on a daily basis. As such, competition among existing businesses proliferated, and many have started to have longer working hours in order to win this race. Some people believe that it is a positive development, while others oppose this. Personally, I feel that this development has not only helped the businesses to flourish but also has aided both customer and employees. The most important benefit with this phenomenon is that more job opportunities are created. Indeed, for a shop to run for longer hours, they need additional resources such as workers and power to effectively operate. A hypermarket outlet, such as Lulu, runs atleast two shifts in a day, and so they need to hire additonal employees for the second shift such as ground staff, supervisors etc. So, this will gradually reduce the unemployment rate which would in turn help in the country's economic growth. The more the number of stores with longer working hours, the faster the economic growth. In terms of business,by the same token, this strategy would generate more profit for the company owners and their suppliers. Having increased opening hours, the stores' inflow of customers would increase which means more products would be sold, and thus more income. At the same time, individuals are also happy as they can shop at their convinence. If shops are open only for a limited time, customers would have to either do their shopping on weekends or have to rush from work during the day to finish this task; however, with this facility, they can do this in their comfort. In conclusion, more and more shores will adopt this trend in the future. In my opinion, prolonged working hours would assist in the overall development of the economy, although it would result in wastage of certain resources such as electricity and water.