The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think that it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food. To what extent do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

With the increasing price of imported foods and carbon emissions caused by transportation, whether or not local residents should consume local crops instead of imported foods has become a widely debated topic. As soon as the public is concerned about our current environment and economy, the advantages are much more than the disadvantages. Firstly, some cities may require imported foods as the production of local crops is far from enough for the residents to consume. As an example, in Hong Kong, there have at least 700000 residents staying in this big international city, and the trend keeps rising at the moment. Even though most architecture does not require much space for planting crops, it is known that small cities may lack space for the growth of crops, conversely, a concentration on local production may lead to a crisis in hunger. Nevertheless, there are more merits than drawbacks in this situation, as the community may experience a wide variety of localized food under improved air quality and economy. There is no doubt that local farmers may lose competitiveness when compared with imported commodities, due to the huge architectural growth and low prices in other countries. If the market is focused on local industry, farmers will have less competition and they may lower the price of localized foods. Therefore, the public may experience a lower cost of food, which also allows revitalizing of the city's economy and helps improve their quality of life. However, farmers in cities may be fond of growing organic foods. For instance, it is well known that Hong Kong farmers are famed for using reusable fertilizers such as left-over kitchen waste in the production of food. Since citizens stop relying on imported foods, air quality can be improved as less petrol is used for overseas transportation. This does not only protect the environment by using less harmful chemicals but also increases the community's air quality. In general, the merits are huge in the aspects of economy and environment and they outweigh the drawbacks in this situation. Therefore, the government should enforce laws prohibiting overseas food and encourage the public to consume more localized foods.