In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

There has been a tendency for every individual to wear clothes originally created by Western nations like t-shirts, jeans, and suits. I will give my reasons for this phenomenon and explain why this is a positive trend. On the one hand, there are several factors associated with the increase of western clothes worldwide. One of those is the dramatic influence of western cultures on non-western nations. For example, people, especially teenagers and young adults, watch a wide range of American and British TV shows, and they love to mimic the wearing styles of the characters. In addition, many considered that outfits originating in American and European are the latest fashion trend. As individuals want to look modernized and trendy, rather than look backwards, they choose this category of garment over the traditional ones. That said, I deem that this notion brings many merits to customers. Firstly, it is more suitable to wear western clothes like t-shirts and jeans to the office and academic environment in this modern era. This is because casual outfits look semi-formal, comfy, and undistracted compared to traditional clothes where the materials and patterns may make the wearers feel uncomfortable and overly attractive. Another benefit is the economical aspect. With the same amount of money, individuals can buy attires to wear for a whole week, whereas it costs much more to purchase a decent piece of traditional outfits. In conclusion, many people choose western clothes as a result of western cultural influence and fashionable styles. On top of that, I believe that individuals will benefit from this uprising trend.