Nowadays eating habits of people around the world are changing, causing them many health problems, including obesity. Why do people tend to eat so badly? What can be done to improve their eating habits?

There is no doubt that people have modified their dietary preferences over the years partly as a result of urbanisation and cross-cultural influences. Considering that globally, people ’s eating choices are evolving, so also increasing the negative health risk such as being overweight. If people understand the relationship between food and health, they would make better choices. This essay will discuss the reasons people make unhealthy dietary choices and proffer recommendations for healthy dietary habits. Due to the increasing influence of westernisation, bi-lateral relations and social interactions,more people prefer to eat fast foods which often times are prepared using high fructose, high sodium ingredients as well as high white flour content, other ingredients with may be considered unhealthy such as high saturated/poly-saturated fats which contributes significantly to weight gain inadvertently obesity in both adults and children. For instance excessive consumption of burgers and doughnuts, or drinking of carbonated drinks. In addition, people with high demanding jobs, job and family pressure, and low work-life balance, a, result have little or no time for meal preparations and planning, which invariably leads to high levels of stress and promotes dietary indiscretion. Other contributory factors would include food scarcity, global food crises and insecurity. For,instance working long hours of 8 to 8 job,is not healthy and this would deter making a healthy eating habit. Recommendations for people to make improved and healthy dietary choices: a collaboration of Governmental bodies with a non-governmental organisation (NGO), dieticians, nutritionists, health coach-led food campaigns, health talks and awareness programs, and health promotion by educating people on the benefits of healthy dietary habits, government bi-lateral agreement on global food security and preservation, human resource manager led work-life balance coaching. To conclude, we are what we eat, therefore people should be encouraged to plan and prepare choice healthy meals in order to guide against negative health risk as obesity.