More and more business as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face-to-face.What is advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communication

A growing number of enterprises and individuals prefer interacting with others in both professional and social settings through digital gadgets rather than physical interactions. While this trend has convenience and increased productivity as its merits, it causes limitations in the quality of time spent with others and misinterpretation of information. On the one hand, digitalization has made communication more convenient. Businesses, as well as individuals, can send messages across to others at any period and place. Thus, saving cost time and cost for the sender and receiver. Additionally, there is a continuation of the productionl process due to effective communication leading to enormous yield. In the workplace, certain decisions can be made despite the absence of some staff which would have resulted in a delay. For instance, a construction company in Nigeria reported that through a video interaction platform, they were able to involve an expert in a building process leading to its success. Hence, technology makes work easier and more productive. On the other hand, information can be distorted as it is not conveyed directly. As a result, the comprehension and interpretation of the message are affected. Furthermore, time spent with others is hindered. This has led to a rise in depression as direct human connections are severed. For example, it has been found that the increasing rate of depression among the elderly in the modern era was a result of limited time spent with their loved ones despite regular conversations over the phone. Therefore, physical interactions should be encouraged amidst technological advancements. In conclusion, many establishments and people exchange more information over the internet than in person. Although technology has made communication easier and ensures increased output, it affects interpersonal relationships and causes a misunderstanding of the senders' intention.