A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

An individual's value in today's society is weighted by their money and social standing, instead of the goodness of their character and morality. Seldom does society care about honour, trust or kindness anymore. This essay agrees that this is the case because money provides power and is the key to success in today's world. Firstly, people with money and status have power. This is an undisputed fact in the 21st century. This power gives them the ability to build whatever narrative they want about themselves. This,in turn, leads to a general belief that having material wealth and inflated status is a coveted quality. For example, this is most evident in people like Jeff Bezos, who is so rich and powerful that he has built a worldwide notion that he is an incredible person. When in reality his company continues to conduct severe human rights violations and he only cares about his personal profit. Furthermore, generational wealth and magnanimity mean individuals are provided with definitive success. In comparison, a person with an astonishing certificate of good standing can never get far in life without connections and a robust level in the hierarchy. Only those who are born into such a system will be able to prosper. For Instance, Elon Musk is heralded as a pioneer in Artificial Intelligence and technology, when in fact he was born into a family which owned diamond mines which catapulted his success. In conclusion, I believe culture is obsessed with chasing after more and more monetary value to increase their level in society because of a belief system that these qualities garner a better, happier life. Without any realisation of the fact that none of those things actually provide any happiness.