Food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think that it could be better to our environment and economic if people only ate local produced food. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays, many people believe that it would be better for our environment and economy if people start consuming locally produced foods over other foods that are produced from thousands of miles away. Although, I believe that despite the fact that it would leave fewer options for consumers but still its pros outweigh the cons that I will explain in the forthcoming paragraphs. On the one hand, it is clearly seen if the whole community initiate consuming locally produced it would benefit the whole communities of farmers. In addition to this, we know that people who are living in rural areas solely depend upon farming for affording their living expenses. Secondly, it gives a variety of options to consume nutritious foods without using any artificial fertilisers. Moreover, It is scientifically believed that regional foods are much healthier in comparison to processed foods that undergo a lot of Chemical treatments. For instance, American food scientists discovered that 70 per cent of people from Urban areas suffer from Carcinogenic problems in contrast to rural area residents because of only eating habits. In contrast, with globalisation, consumers get the privilege to enjoy food all over the world but the main thing that acts as a hurdle is transportation facilities as they cause an immense level of air pollution. However, locally grown planters play a significant role in reducing carbon footprints which counterbalance the transportation expenses. As a result, it helps in lessening the impact of pollution on the environment. To conclude this, although consuming locally produced foods have both advantages and disadvantages but I totally believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.