Some universities now offers their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

The Internet has become an integral part of everyday life. Many higher education institutes now offer online study programs. The following passages will highlight the negative effects of this change. First of all, in the modern world, a good education is a must for decent employment opportunities. And one of the most important of this education, is how the information is being taught, While in a personal situation, a teacher can observe their students and make the required changes in the teaching method to improve the student's understanding. However, when the changes are online, this creates separation among the participants. This limits the educator and learners' ability to communicate and reduces the full learning potential. For example, research conducted during the Covid-19 pandemic shows that online lectures are only 40 to 50 per cent effective as in-person classes. Similarly, colleges and universities as learning establishments are a lot more than just classes and courses. These are places where young people development among life skills such as communication, teamwork, and learning to live and work with people who disagree with them. These skills can not be learnt through the Internet because ordinary individuals need to see real-life reactions and facial expressions which is not always possible during virtual lessons. This can be seen from the Punjab University study where online graduates find it difficult to adjust their behaviours in the workplace as compared to regular students. In conclusion, the current level of technology allows the educational authorities to hold virtual classes. Nonetheless, this removes the human touch from the learning experience which is doing a great disservice to the younger generation.