Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree

The development of railways and roads is very important to improve transportation in a country. It is argued that governments should allocate funds to railways rather than roads. While I believe the construction of roads is important, I agree money should be spent on railways rather than roads. Firstly, a huge return can be obtained by investing funds in railways. There is no argument that trains are one of the most comfortable and fast transportation. Therefore, people will increasingly use trains if they are available frequently everywhere. This can be achieved by enhancing railways. For example, research that has been done in the USA shows that 60% of people are using trains as their day-to-day transportation method. Furthermore, huge traffic on roads can be reduced by constructing new railways. In other words, society will tend to use trains instead of their personal vehicles if they are readily available. For instance, the block of roads in New Delhi has been considerably dropped with the construction of a new railway system around the city. On the other hand, most folks are using their personal vehicles most of the time according to their preferences. To be extended, the community will satisfy when roads are well-developed and maintained. Thus, the development of roads is also a major concern for authorities. To conclude, even though there are benefits when a country is having a modern road system, governments will receive more benefits while investing in railways such as an increase in usage by the public and a decrease in traffic. Therefore, states should concern about allocating more financial to develop and maintain a modern railway system throughout the country.