Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is thought that the governments should invest more money in railways rather than roads. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement as I argue that travelling by road has its advantages. To begin with, there are several reasons why people might think railways are more efficient than roads. Firstly, travelling by train provides people with a sense of safety. Train travel means that trains do not have to go through traffic lights, or intersections. This ensures that train travels are hardly ever interrupted. In other words, trains are always on time and safe, regardless of the amount of traffic. Lastly, train travel is fast and not time-consuming. This is because trains only travel around major cities, and with almost no traffic, this makes trains even faster and more effective. On the other hand, I still believe that road travelling is advantageous. The main reason that makes travelling by road beneficial is its flexibility. Travelling with private transport means people do not have to follow any schedules, but instead, their timing is more flexible. Since trips usually require a lot of planning, people could have more time preparing, and take trips whenever they want, for as many days as they wish, without having to follow planned schedules forcibly. Moreover, travelling via private transportation on the road saves people from the hassle of having to wait in long queues and going through checkpoints. In other words, people might not have to fear interacting with large crowds, preventing the spread of diseases. In conclusion, more money should be invested in railways, but that does not mean road travel should be abandoned.