Some people think that school children need to learn practical skills such as car maintenance or bank account management along with their academic subjects at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Acquisition of skills is necessary in our daily living. It is often believed that children of school going age should incorporate learning of skills into their regular studies. I completely agree to this statement and this essay is going to explain more on my viewpoint. To begin with, learning of new skills is essential as it will help broaden the students mind. Learning of a skill involves the use of the mind and this helps in ways such as problem solving, improves our way of thinking and boosts the quality of our lives as well. Most individuals with skills are self reliant and Independent as well because they are exposed to the job market. In most instances school children who take up some skill do well in class than their colleagues who are not trained in any other field. Furthermore, one can earn a living from the acquisition of new skills. Training of students in fields such as car maintenance, bead making and hairdressing reduces over dependence of these children on their parents and the government at large.A skillful person can be self employed and stand the chance of gaining employment in different organizations as compared to one who has no skills. For example, the finance minister of Ghana, Honorable Ken Ofori Atta, in a speech delivered to students of the University of Ghana advised them on the need to learn new skills and trade such as fashion designing and makeup as this will help them gain employment rather than relying on the formal sector. In conclusion, skills acquisition is very beneficial to every student as it helps broaden their scope of mind and make them independent as well.